Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays people argue a lot regarding the effect of competition in our life and especially in the life of children. Some people are sure that is crucial to have such kind of sports, while others think that it can be even dangerous. Both sides will be reviewed in the scope of this essay. Let's start with the advantages. First, practising sports like football or hockey has a positive effect on socializing. These are team sports, that is why we have to learn how to work with teammates which is extremely important for education. For example, it may help students to communicate better or find new connections. Second, doing physical activities are good for our health. Basically, the more sports people do, the more energy they have. It improves the ability to memorize new subjects and think quickly. For instance, a number of researches show that people doing sports are often more productive. On the flip side, there are also some disadvantages. Firstly, some kids can not participate in tennis or soccer due to some health conditions. Because of their limitations, they may feel uncomfortable and it may affect their emotional stability. For example, they might feel there is something wrong with them, but this is not the case. Secondly, some active exercises can be dangerous for health, for instance, if something hit a teenager's head, it can be lethal. The statistics show that it happens quite frequently, when safety measures are not being followed. In conclusion, it is hard to say if competitive activities have more upsides and downsides. On the one hand, there is no doubt that people are more efficient and sociable if they take part in the competitions. But on the other hand, it is emotionally tough for children with disabilities and sometimes it is dangerous to their health.