Some people think that is a government should be responsible for improving public health. Others, however, believe that everyone in the community should take part in this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The current global pandemic has made public health an important topic in world-over. There is a wider argument that public health should be looked after at the national level, while others believe that it should stem from each individual. I am in agreement with the latter view. To begin with, authorities should bear the weight of maintaining the physical and mental well-being of society. Firstly, a healthy nation is a great asset to the country. A major component of community medicine comprises interventions to ensure the public remains healthy. This means the health cost is maintained at a much lesser cost compared with that of treating patients with sicknesses. Hence, it should be the responsibility of policymakers and governing bodies to take community health seriously. For example, the government's spending on reducing the mosquitoe mosquitoes burden had reduced the number of people admitted with dengue fever, a disease transmitted by mosquitoes. Furthermore, the earning capacity of a healthy individual is more and therefore the country's development is greatly determined by the health of the society. On the other hand, the community should actively participate in improving the health standards. Otherwise, no intervention is going to be effective nor sustainable, if they are imposed and not originating from the community. For instance, the most effective intervention to tackle the mosquitoes breeding grounds was proven to be, small communities being vigilant and destroying water stagnating areas which could be possible breeding grounds of the mosquitoes that carry dengue fever. In conclusion, even thought the government should take up public health to maintain a healthy nation in order to develop, nevertheless the responsibility lies mainly in society because no intervention would be successful otherwise.