Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned. Others, however, believe that people should be free to choose sports activities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether dangerous sporting activities should be banned or whether it should be a personal choice. In this essay, I will discuss both views giving examples from New York State Hospital and American Air Diving Centre to demonstrate arguments and prove points. Personally, I feel that instead of banning these sports, they should be legalized. On the one hand, a large section of society thinks that sports such as Bungee Jumping, Scuba diving, and Rock climbing may cause serious injuries and even deaths. People hurt themselves by breaking their shoulders, spines and limbs. According to New York State Hospital's report, there were 1300 serious cases in the year 2021 because of motor racing. Furthermore, these deadly activities also cause harm and injuries to other people. In 2019, a stunt plane crash caused the death of 9 people, and more than 30 people were injured. On the flip side, dangerous sports are fun and recreational activities for some people, and it reduces boredom. Some individuals realize the value of life when they are at the edge of it. For instance, American Air Diving Centre asked the reason on the application form to their participants why they prefer skydiving, and more than 80% of people answered that it is for fun and they get energized. Moreover, these activities also attract tourists and help the economy of the country. To conclude, I believe that these dangerous activities must be legalized because banning is not the solution. Banning will only give rise to underground events. Government should make proper institutions which provide proper training and licences since these activities provide a livelihood to many people, especially in mountain areas where sports like paragliding and bungee jumping are famous. Therefore, the government can regulate these activities, and individuals can go for these risky sports only after generating certifications.