In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Nowadays, the business world is highly competitive and all companies create strategies to attract more consumers through advertisements that highlight new features of their products. While there are some disadvantages of this trend, I personally feel that the advantages are far more noticeable. On the one hand, several drawbacks can be highlighted here. To begin, some corporations develop new characteristics to their products that do not necessarily mean that is good for the consumers. For example; the manufacturing of candies uses more and more sugar and adds different flavors and artificial adds which are not good for human health. Besides, the existence of a variety of goods encourages consumerism and spending more money on unnecessary things. On the other hand, Some economic fundamentals state that competition is important for the economic growth of a country, which is the result of the development and improvement of goods and services. Besides, not only a new product is an innovation, but also improvement itself o value added are considered new products. Furthermore, new and better goods and services mean more benefits for people. For instance, if mobile phone companies hadn`t created smartphones, we haven´t had the possibility of communicating easily with them. In conclusion, it seems to me that the minus points are outweighed by the plus points because even when firms are motivating consumers to spend more money adding new features or making upgrades on the products might mean an advantage for the economy of a country and benefits for the consumers.