Human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As natural resources are under increasing pressure, the list of endangered animals and plants is becoming endless. While some might claim that nothing could be done to reverse the trend, I believe that there are still means to ensure a sustainable future for the planet. Biodiversity contributes to humanity’s most important life-supporting safety net: nutrition, shelter, clothing, the very water we drink, and the air we breathe. However, our safety net is stretched almost to the breaking point. It is reported that natural forest area continues to decline, marine ecosystems are undermined severely, and countless species are suffering from illegal poaching. Hence, there are increasing voices that question the necessity and viability of making a change. Nevertheless, to reverse biodiversity decline, I believe, is still feasible, though difficult. Governments could promote a greater understanding of plants and animals by investing in the research and preservation efforts of universities, zoos, and botanical institutes. This may ensure the survival of individual species and produce tangible benefits in the form of new medicines and products. An alternative strategy would be to protect natural habitats by expanding nature reserves. This would have immediate positive consequences for those areas by preserving delicate ecosystems. The most effective solution is to limit the damage at the source. Companies that engage in practices that harm the environment should be required to demonstrate that they have taken all reasonable efforts to minimize the damage. Public contracts for roads and buildings should only be awarded to firms that have a good environmental track record. The strategies outlined above could do much to reverse the destruction that threatens the world’s plants and animals. To conclude, a planet being pushed to the edge will eventually turn on us. With the accelerating rate of mass extinctions of plant and animal species, I believe, effective measures should be taken immediately to make a difference.