In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

There is an increasing number of people who are interested in finding out the history of their living place. They want to know because they are curious and keen on having a sense of connection to the community. They are able to reach this information by interviewing residents who lived there for a long time. Curiosity makes people eager to understand the hidden history in terms of the building structure, style, and materials. These make people appreciate the beauty of their living place that is not noticed easily. For instance, several buildings in HK have used the building style from the UK. This makes the building very unique, and people found out the history is related to the UK colonising HK in the past. Every building has a special design, which provides architectural knowledge to people. Developing a sense of connection is another reason that they want to find out the history. Since the convenience of technology, neighbours might be unfamiliar with each other as they do not talk in person usually. Having a connection can provide a way to unite with neighbours and enhance the relationship within the community to remember the history of the tower. Interviewing old people in the building is one way to get known to the history in depth. They usually live in the building for a very long time, meaning they experienced many things and witness the changes in the living environment. In conclusion, people are interested in the history of the house or building they live in because of curiosity and the development of a sense of connection. They are able to know more about it by interviewing people who lived there for a long time.