Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Children nowadays spend much daily time using their smartphones. This essay highlights the explanations for this trend and expresses my opinion that this drawbacks the development. Several reasons explain why children take hours to use cell phones every day. Firstly, it comes from the truth that their parents allow them to use smartphones whenever they are busy. On a daily basis, a mother needs to not only complete all the household work but also take care of her children. As a result, giving something interesting such as phones probably ensures kids not to be annoyed. Secondly, smartphones offer various functions such as colorful pictures, fun videos, and games that kids are keen to. For instance, my 10-year-old sister spent about three hours every evening playing a mobile game called PUBG before sleeping. In my opinion, using phones for hours per day may bring negative effects on children. One disadvantage is less time to build relationships with other children and the community which may result in their social skills such as communication and problem-solving. An observational study proved that kids who spent more than an hour a day on phones found hard to communicate with strangers than those who did not use this smart technology. Additionally, looking at the phone screens for hours cause some eye disease such as short-sightedness. According to an epidemiologic study conducted in America, the number of children had suffered from short-sighted increases recently and one of the main reasons leading to this problem was believed to be the frequency of using smart devices including laptops and phones. In conclusion, with the multi-functional development of smartphones and parents' allowance, some kids tend to use their phones for hours each day. This facilitates negative impacts on them including lowing personal skills and improving the prevalence of eye diseases.