Many young people say that mobile phones are the most important object that they own. Does the popularity of mobile phones among young people have more advantages or disadvantages?

It has been observed that a large number of youngsters believed that telephones are the most significant item in their possession. However, despite this trend being popular among the youths, its drawbacks outweigh the merits as we shall see. Admittedly, there are few benefits of moveable telecommunication gadgets, the most notably here is the use of it for communication between family and friends when one is away. In the past years, keeping up with loved ones proved abortive, not until the advent of new technology where communication has been made easy via a transcoding device. Furthermore, some handsets have internet connections and this has proven to be helpful, especially in the academic section. Students can easily carry out their assignments in the comfort of their homes without having to go to the library. However, there are serious concerns associated with telecommunication devices among young individuals, and perhaps the gravest is the distraction that comes with it. For example,  a student with the habit of constantly engaging and chatting with friends on social platforms might find it difficult to concentrate more during studies because of shifted attention. Additionally,  regular displays of flamboyant lifestyles on social media could lead some youths into fraudulent activities. For instance, during the criminal parade held last week by the state police in Lagos Nigeria, one of the culprits confessed to wanting to live the influencing lifestyles on social websites.  In conclusion, it would seem that the common trend of owning handsets by young individuals for easy communication and for academic purposes are worthy aspiration. But, the challenges such as diverting their attention and putting youths at risk of being fraudsters supersedes all the benefits it might present.