Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in, To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, avarice and egotism has been rooted on individual life. It is considered that holding the traditional and ancentor’s principles are the best approach to make better social life, particulaly in value of respect both to family members and to society. I firmly agree about that solution due to some justifications, such as maintaining family’s harmony and increasing the sense of solidarity among society. The foremost reason is maintaining the unity in the households. It is clear that family is the closest people that usually give the hands to help us if we have severe conditions. By respecting them, it can increase their empathy for us and maintaining harmonial relationships among family members. Thus, when someone has sadness or serious problems they can assist us to gain a solution. For instance, when the family has a medical need that requires much money to get medication in the hospital, by giving them financial assistance, of course, can lead them happy so that in the future they can also do the same help for us. In addition, becoming greedy and selfish individuals can get jeered among society. Because social life is inclined to uphold solidarity values among them. Meanwhile, selfishness and egotism are far from the basis of solidarity itself. Consequently, not only will be they avoided by the society, but also they can get negative attitudes as well. Taking Pancasila as the ideology of Indonesia as an example. From the beginning, when Soekarno proposed his ideas about national basis (pancasila), he mentioned that unity in the diversity as the biggest reason behind five principles of Pancasila, so that they who do not follow that, it represents that they do not want become social members of indonesia. To summarise, to make better life in whether society or family, maintaining our respect and sympathy to them are salient because it can make the harmony in family and led make unity among society.