In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that an increasing number of people are keen on researching their family history. There are many reasons which lead to this trend. In my opinion, this is definitely a positive trend. From my perspective, two main reasons contribute to this phenomenon, namely the need for a sense of identity and the development of technology. To start with, nowadays in some parts of the world, more and more people want to prove that they are unique and special in society. Therefore, looking for more details of the history of their own families is an ideal way for them to know themselves and their roots, also it can help them to develop their social identities. Furthermore, another reason for this trend is the overall popularity of the Internet. It is quite convenient and possible for people to research the history of their own families on the Internet by going throwing electronic materials or accessing some online databases. Also, many people like to share the old stories of their families on some social media platforms, which results in the prevalence of researching family history. Personally speaking, I consider this trend a positive one. First of all, researching family history is a good way for people to pass time. It is true that many people see this as a fascinating hobby and a good way to improve their social life. For instance, sharing family stories are a perfect way to start a conversation with a stronger and lead a closer relationship with your friends. Secondly, due to more people who are addicted to researching family history in a certain family, their children could be encouraged to develop their interest in history and related knowledge like archaeology. this can definitely help the mental development of these children because of learning history. Lastly, sharing information about families may help people find “long-lost” family members or relatives. In conclusion, many factors contribute to the truth that more and more people are hooked on researching their own family history. From my point of view, this is a positive development.