Many people say that we now live in 'consumer societies' where money and possessions are given too much importance. what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the community sometimes say that we focus on wealth and valuable things too much. I totally agree with that. To start with, one of the demerits of human beings living in consumer culture. In a consumer society, the public becomes more difficult to feel satisfied, they always keep buying products which are not as necessary as they thought. When they thought the products are useless, they may throw them away. However, with lots of the public doing these without sorting them correctly, it could cause environmental pollution. Therefore, some remains of food and packages not only pollute the habitats of wild animals but also be detrimental to them. Furthermore, some firms emit industrial water or gas without treating it properly because the managers of the firms focus on earning money and they do not care about the consequence of emitting wastewater or gas. The only thing they empathize with is how to save money as much as they can, no matter how the environment will become. In addition, people may also emphasize social status. For instance, many people make friends with each other because of the business corporation and wealth. Even children are getting taught by their parents, not to keep friendships with classmates in low-income families. It is a ridiculous condition.Our purpose of making friends is to share happiness with each other and enjoy the atmosphere of getting along not for the business or social reputation. To sum up, most people in this consumer society are very passionate to make more wealth and get a better social status. However, pure friendship and environmental consideration should not be overlooked.