Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activities levels accordingly. Why is this case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Nowadays, people start complaining about the excessive usage of television by their children as compared to earlier times. Also, with this, their portion of time for physical things got minimised. Nevertheless, this essay will further highlight its causes and further discuss the measure to promote more activities. Firstly, watching television rises magnificently these days and due to which physical activity time has reduced drastically among youngsters, due to advancement in technology. Earlier, there were limited shows broadcasted on TVs, however, the android TV comes with numerous features like internet connectivity and allows users access to on-demand shows. Like, any movie or series can be watched anytime by which youth got more addicted and neglect going out for outdoor games like football, cricket, etc. To illustrate, the Samsung android television is internet enabled device and has various applications such as Netflix, Amazon prime and Youtube, which come with a huge database of movies, shows, cartoons, etc. Therefore, more hours have been spent watching movies, rather than going out to play and getting involved in any physical exercises. Furthermore, to restrict the usage of these devices, parents should attentively keep an eye on their children. This should be done by restricting their access to TV and enrolling them in some leisure activity classes like dancing, swimming, etc. By doing so, they can maintain the usage and protect their child from its side effects. For example, my niece's mother has fixed her daily screen time only to one hour and the remaining day, she goes for bhangra classes. Though this measure will not only encourage higher levels of activity among youngsters, this will also protect them from the negative impact of excessive usage of TV. In the conclusion, technology gets updated day by day, in my opinion, parents have the ultimate authority and direct influence on their children, through which they can restrict them.