Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets, and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

IIt is a fact that internet offers a wide range of shopping experience, ranging from the purchase of household items to air tickets, which makes it increasingly popular. If assessed critically, this trend appears to be more advantageous and much needed for the modern society. The most tangible advantage of online shopping is the convenience. To be precise, a person can shop a wide range of products or services at one particular site and he can do this at his preferred geographical location, no matter whether he is at work or at home. In case of in-person shopping, an individual has to dedicate some time, and this can be done only when he is free of work. He needs to search for the best outlet, find space for parking, make clarifications with the floor staff and finally should stand in a queue to settle the bill. All this inconvenience can be avoided if a he decides to shop online. The reason why I think this is much needed for the present generation is that modern lifestyle is entirely different from what was there in the past. In the past, people used to gather in one place on specific days for the sales of commodities or visited retail shops. At present, when people value money and time the most, internet shopping avails almost all services at our doorsteps. By contrast, one of the worst flaws of online shopping is that most services are not instant. Another limitation is the difficulty in assessing the quality of a product before the delivery. In such cases, the products have to be returned. To conclude, though internet shopping has certain demerits, considering the range of benefits it offers to the society, it can be said that the present generation has accepted it as a part of their life.