Some people think certain prisoners should be made to set up unpaid community work, instead of just being put behid the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's contemporary world, an increasing number of individuals think that some convicts should be allowed to serve as community workers, rather than a long sentence in jail. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement and think these people should be given a chance to improve. Firstly, the prisoners who are sitting behind the bars are human beings with certain rights. They might have done the crime in situations beyond their control, which should not be blamed on them. It is right that the law might have decided the punishment depending on the evidence provided, but it is not always right. They might not be guilty but still are blamed for something they never did. Therefore their punishment should be revised considering their behaviour in the prison and the seriousness of the crime they committed. Moreover, instead of giving strict punishments, authorities should allow them to serve the community while doing volunteer work as an apology. For example, Secondly, making offenders do community work will take some pressure away from the government. This will assist those struggling community members who are in need of help but can not get assistance because of an immense shortage of workers. As a result, their situation gets worse which puts a burden on the government to provide some aid. Consequently, those prisoners can be used in such situations where they can help the community get out of the crisis. For instance, during floods in NSW last year, many social organisations were struggling to find helpers to supply necessities to the victims. This gap could have been filled by those stuck in jails if the government would have made a judicious decision. In conclusion, the benefits of using prisoners as community volunteer workers are indeed too great to ignore as they can assist as a helping hand during unpredictable times. Additionally, such people should be given another opportunity to improve and apologise for their mistakes.