Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisements and visual media, in general, play a significant role in our day-to-day life, from educating us about the innovations happening across various consumer industries to new products available in the market. Some people might argue that advertisements encourage us to buy things we do not need, but I think advertisements are not promoting purchase but awareness. Advertisements in the traditional world, before the social media era, were broadcast to everyone who was watching any specific channels or even in the print media. On the other hand, these days, Ads are much more focused and targeted to specific audiences based on their interests. If these products are not being advertised, then we might not know if the solution to our problem exists or not. One such example from my own experience is a portable espresso machine, which I came to know about from an advertisement. Being a coffee lover, I brew my coffee every morning. Still, when I had to travel for work or even on vacation, I started missing my home-brewed coffee, so while searching for such a product on the internet, I came across this advertisement showcasing the exact product I was looking for. This coffee maker had an inbuilt battery-operated grinder, a filter, and a thermos flask, for keeping the coffee hot. I purchased the product, which I am still using even after more than two years. To conclude, advertisements not only play an essential role in bringing these products to us but also promote how and where these products were developed, improving our and many lives simultaneously.