In more and more countries, people choose to give money on special occasions rather than personally giving gifts. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in most of the countries, people prefer sending money to their loved ones instead of personally giving presents on their special moments. This essay will discuss the main reason behind this practice and further will conclude on whether sending checks in place of presents is a positive development or not. In modern era, everyone is having their own set of interests. It is very difficult to judge people and their choices. Therefore, it becomes difficult to select a gift for others that would actually excite them. Moreover, there is always a thought running in the mind of the giving party that the other person might have the same thing already. For example: At one of my friend's wedding, I bought a beautiful handbag for her only to understand later that the same bag was gifted to her by someone else as well. This kind of situation is leading to more and more individuals sending cash instead of gifts. Furthermore, giving money has certain advantages as it will save all the efforts and time which are spent on choosing a perfect gift. We just need to decide the amount of funds and it will serve the purpose. Also, the receiving party will be more happier as they can utilise the capital as per their own will and it will also help in bearing the cost of the party they had thrown. For instance: Mostly, in Indian weddings it is a ritual to send shagun to the couple which can later help the parents who have already spent a huge amount on the wedding. On the contrary, money is not what most people seek and they are more happier with the personalised gifts. Gifting a special thing will create a lifetime memory and will leave a happy image in their minds. On the other hand, cash will not be counted at all. However, this idea is superseded with the fact that wealth is something that we all need at all points of time. Therefore, this method has no harm in any manner. Therefore, in the conclusion, I would say that change in the trend of transferring the funds is a better option as it provides flexibility to the person receiving the payment to utilise the amount in their own way rather than receiving personal gifts.