Plastic bags, Plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment What damange does plastic do to environments? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Undoubtedly, products made of polymer are harmful to our planet. These days individuals use too many disposable items which are great contributors to polluting the seas, the oceans, forests and so on. Needless to say, the authorities need to be involved to tackle this problem and so do consumers. The notions will be examined in the essay. To begin with, plastic garbage is detrimental to biodiversity because some species such as birds and marine creatures might accept it for food. Inevitably, it entails their deaths and hence they may become extinct in the foreseeable future. For example, a study has shown that the number of sea turtles has decreased significantly over the past three decades because they consumed microplastics assuming it as food. Thus, the problem of plastic pollution has become a problem that needs to be solved urgently. Certainly, governments and people should take it seriously because the issue of plastic waste it is getting worse. For instance, researchers claim that approximately 8 million pieces of plastic go into the ocean every day inevitably taking their toll on the Earth. That is why citizens of the planet should become environmentally conscious having given up buying plastic bags and bottles and start using eco-bags and reusable bottles instead. Thus, the amount of plastic garbage would be decreased considerably. Besides, governments definitely should encourage individuals to recycle and upcycle products made of polymers by creating new projects and incentives for individuals. In conclusion, even though no one can change the world overnight and refuse to use plastic today it is crucial to be environmentally conscious and use as less plastic as possible.