It is observed that communication between family members in today's time is less as compared to the past. However, some people do not think so. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, our modern society is more connected than ever before. Thanks to the multiple scientific developments, communication between people from all around the world has become mainstream and accessible to everyone. Despite that, it has been noticed that many people knowingly refrain from communicating with their own families. So, to what extent is this statement true? Some agree that people might seek less contact with their relatives due to multiple reasons. First, it is true that in our modern society, time has become a rare resource due to the fast pace our lives follow. Therefore, individuals would rather spend their breaks and leisure time focusing on themselves and doing pleasurable activities rather than spending quality time with their families. On top of that, the western culture doesn't give as much importance to the family as a whole as other cultures do. For instance, many families in the west expect their children to leave the house and become independent at 18, as well as it is expected of the elderly to spend their last days in retiring homes rather than with their close family. This plays a huge role in the lack of bond between family members. To summarize, many people nowadays do not feel the need to stay in contact with their family for diverse reasons. On the other hand, this phenomenon is not widespread, and many folks from all around the world put family as a top priority. First, many people try to educate their children with family-oriented values such as healthy communication between family members, quality time, or going to extended family events, all of that in aiming to maintain a good and positive balance of personal and family time. Then for some, the members of the family can be the only reliable people in their lives during moments of hardships hence the importance of maintaining a good and steady relationship with your family. For example, a cousin or a brother might be one of the only people present for you and help you, since they have known you since birth. Therefore, many cultures still hold onto those traditional family values. In conclusion, I disagree that communication between family members is becoming less important, as a family should always stay a priority and come first before many other aspects of our lives.