Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Criminality is one of the world's major concerns, even more so the fact that former inmates go back to this activity even after completing their sentence. There are some main factors why this occurs, however, governments can consider a couple of options to solve the problem. Reoffending is an alarming but common issue in today's world. Due to the hardship that inmates go through during their sentence, these individuals come out of prison with troubled minds, which hardens their reinstatement into society. For example, studies have shown that 50% of the people that came out of imprisonment, showed signs of mental struggle and reoffended after a year of freedom. Additionally, society is not prepared to welcome ex-convicts with social and job opportunities. They feel rejected by their peers and family, which only contributes to their personal burdens. For instance, it is widely known that once a person holds a criminal record, their chances of succeeding at job interviews at extremely low. Consequently, getting a job and making a living seems impossible to them, thus going back to a life of crime seems the only option. However, there are a couple of measures authorities can consider in order to ease the aforementioned problems. Firstly, institutions can assign health professionals that support and follow up on their reinstatement into society. If psychologists accompanied these individuals' process, they could check up on their progress continuously and make sure they are not having ideas of reoffending. Furthermore, governments could promote initiatives to re-educate people into becoming more open and friendly with former criminals. Welcoming them as peers and as equal members of a community, for instance, would make them feel like they could become a productive part of the system. To conclude, there are many reasons why people go back to a life of crime after completing a sentence. Sometimes their mental struggles and their feelings of rejection will be sufficient to re-offend. Nonetheless, many measures can be taken into solving this problem and making them feel welcome in society.