Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past three decades, vehicles have been made very convenient which is the reason it has increased tremendously in many cities giving the world a big traffic jam problem. It is very much true in this modern world where every individual has the freedom to own a car. In a further paragraph, it is explained in detail with an instance to reduce it by the government by implementing some measures. In this modern era, every individual would like to have a high-class life and not struggle, and spend time dependent on public transport. In addition to that owning a vehicle is so easy and convenient, thanks to many new manufacturing companies making cars which is so affordable even for the middle class with the most favourable options. For example, Suzuki Ertiga is one the cheapest and most affordable motors in India even for a 7seater. Many people in India tend to buy Ertiga simply because it is big, spacious, fuel economy and most a status of having a big car. It’s not only a Suzuki but many other companies in many other countries have similar options and even ones better. Furthermore, with an instance having said above there has been a potential growth in the sale of cars and as a result heavy traffic jam. It was a time when only metropolitan cities had traffic jams but in today’s,world we find the same even in rural areas. Since it is a very big concern, the government shall definitely take some remedial measures to control the traffic by implementing more and more public transport facilities with utmost convenience, facilities inside the bus, offers to buy tickets, and entertainment on buses like television. In addition to this, transport authorities can also think of launching metros in many places. For example: If Government introduces more routes and connectivity options in a city, reduce fares and introduce more fines for car users with different clauses to maintain and drive cars on road, which will force an individual to use public transportation than using their own vehicle. To conclude, it is very true, in fact increasing the problem of the traffic jam from past thirty years in many cities of the earth and is an unavoidable problem but the public sector should impose more type of fines for motor users with limited freedom to drive, on the other,hand make public transport so very convenient with utmost facilities and preference for every individual which will definitely encourage to get towards the public transportation.