You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is clear that many species of animals are nearly extinction which has very negative consequences for the diversity of life on our planet. The purpose of this essay is examine the reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions. The major threat to the survival of animal species is human activity. This is clear in the illegal poaching of animals like tigers and rhinos who are hunted for sport and to sell on the black market. Many species of fish are also the victims of overfishing. However, we have also had a profound effect on animal life in the way we live. Population growth over the last one hundred years has had a highly disastrous effect as cities and towns reduce many animal’s habitats. Also, in order to sustain our growing population, we need more and more space for agriculture. This can be see in the destruction of the Amazon rainforest which has endangered many species. One final negative human influence can be seen in the changing environment. Climate change threatens to change the planet too quickly which could have terrible results for many animals. A clear example of this is the habitat of the polar bear which expects to be drastically reduce over the next few decades. Despite these problems there are some measures that could address the problem. Governments need to share responsibility and have stricter punishments for animal hunters. We can also have larger protected areas where human activity is limited. Perhaps the most difficult problem to address is that of climate change which would mean change the way we live. In conclusion, we can see that humans are having a very negative effect on animal numbers. We need to take responsibility for the protection of animal numbers and reducing the number of animals being killed directly and indirectly by human activity.