The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for you answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Most smokers know that cigarettes will harm their health but they still keep this bad activity. In this essay I will analyze causes and feasible solutions to this problem. Several main causes can explain the reality in which people keep smoking behavior. Firstly, this activity is because smoking makes people feel relaxed when they are stressed. To be specific, the nicotine component in cigarettes quickly affects the nervous system of humans, reducing anxiety, thereby smokers often use it when they have to deeply think about something. Another rationale for this habit is that people easily get cigarettes to hand. In Vietnam, for instance, tobacco is sold in every corner of streets, supermarkets or convenience stores so that smokers quickly buy them at a cheap price whenever they need. In order to decrease the proportion of smokers in the population, the government should impose more stringent smoking laws and tobacco business. These days, many developed countries have applied strict punishments for breaking smoking rules in public areas with very high fine for penalties. Therefore, people should carefully consider when they want to smoke. On the other hand, if business men have to pay more tax on producing and trading cigarettes, their profit may seriously fall down. In addition, people who smoke have to pay more money to maintain the habit. As a result, they gradually reduce smoking and tend to give up. In conclusion, there are some reasons why many smokers still keep the bad habit, but I believe that this social problem will decline in the future by effective government management.