Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society

It is accepted by many people that social networking sites, for instance, Facebook, have adverse effects on people and the local community. However, while I firmly believe that such platforms are advantageous for the individual, they will have damaging consequences for the local communities. There are numerous positives with regard to improving long-distance communication by using social media. Firstly, it helps anyone to be connected with their friends, family, and colleagues around the world at any time. In addition to this parents don’t have to wait until their children send a postcard to see what is happening in their lives where users can share photos and videos of their experiences of the lives that they live. Furthermore, people will get the opportunity to meet new friends from different countries, which will enable experience different cultures around the world enabling them to communicate values and ideas from two ends of the world. However, people becoming antisocial has been the biggest threat to societies. To begin with, social media addiction will result in people sitting in front of a computer or on their mobile phones excessively times which will make them in forgetting the outside world. For instance, the majority who are using eventually will evade talking to their neighbours or going for walk or to the local restaurant for a snack which will impact the local communities by improving camaraderie among them which will create a society with fewer values and care. As a result, it will create a society where violence, inhuman, and injustice prevail. To conclude, although social media networking sites have had positive outcomes for the people around the world bringing them together, they have had not the same impact for the societies where it has had a detrimental impact on the well-being of the local communities