Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age committing a crime must always be accompanied by an appropriate punishment. Group of people think that the optimal way is to prolong the time of confession. Others express the opinion that alternative methods are better. From my perspective, I consider that long years of imprisonment are more appropriate. On the one hand, it is considered that offenders should be severely punished by being put on long probation. It means that the recidivism rate will be reduced remarkably as a result of the countless beatings and tortures administered by other prisoners without cause, which will progressively form conditions that prevent the offender from committing crimes again via the development of both fear and obsession. For example, the murdere murder usually get lifetime prison sentence. Thus, this has helped to eliminate the number of occurrences of crime. On the other hand, government also need other better methods should be devised in which villains such as labour rehabilitation. In my opinion, these people can be of the service to the whole community during their imprisonment. The labour force from these criminals will be a great contribution to the societies.It does not imply that these violent and dangerous people will be released and walk around the inner city freely. They will be under strict observation. For instance, they will be tired to the heavy chains and placed in construction sites to assist the building companies or they do community work like doing farmer's work which is seen as an act of atonement for the mistakes they make. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions. I think that locking up lawbreakers for years is more advantageous as it discourages more crime and returns serenity and tranquillity to the community.