The number of students studying science at university is constantly declining. What do you think are the causes? What effects will this have on our society?

Scientific courses are showing an alarming decrease in students interested in these subjects. Some of the main factors for such a phenomenon are related to the new careers available for youngsters, as well as to the lack of motivation and support they receive to fulfil higher education. This issue will likely have a detrimental effect on society unless authorities address the problem. The world has seen many technological changes in recent years, which have brought about new educational paths. Due to this, students have now numerous careers to choose from and no longer need to settle with traditional science courses. For instance, recent studies have shown that those individuals who were born after the 90s are prone to social media careers and have no regard for science whatsoever. Additionally, those who opt to follow science as their primary subject, tend to drop out because of the lack of support which ends up demotivating them in the long run. Former medicine students, for example, usually blame their decisions of giving up on higher education, on authorities who showed no support or interest in their careers. Consequently, the continuous decline of attendees to such assignments could bring several negative effects on our society. Initially, fewer professionals involved in scientific matters could result in the loss of experts researching issues of great importance to the world. It has been proven, for instance, that in 2025 the number of biology experts researching the cure for HIV will have dropped around 50% in comparison to the previous decade. Furthermore, if a large number of alumni continues to drop out of university, there will be plenty of people with unfinished careers and no future prospects. For example, studies have proven that those who cannot complete a university course end up, almost in all cases, needing psychiatric assistance. As a result, this tendency, if left unattended, could bring about all sorts of mental struggles in a large portion of young adults in their future lives. To conclude, it is known that parts of society are losing interest in science, mainly due to the new paths of education and the increasing demotivation among youngsters. If governments do not tackle the issue, such factors will cause tremendous drawbacks in the world as we know it.