Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing(for eg. through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that governments and some companies are tracking individuals through new communication technologies, meanwhile, people may not be necessarily noticed. Although these controlling methods have many positive impacts, in my opinion, I believe that the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, the advantages of this trend are twofold. To begin with, governments can use this monitoring in order to control and track the footprint of crimes which happened in societies. For instance, the cyber security department of police in modernized countries uses cameras to watch citizens' behaviour, and in other cases, they may navigate the location of offenders via their handsets so they can arrest them quickly. The technology companies like Google, Facebook and Apple, moreover, track their users when they are surfing around the web and collect data about their tastes and personality traits. As a result, these businesses advert more targeted ads to their customers and end-users. On the other hand, this subject has some drawbacks which might bother the public. Firstly, privacy is the most vital part of digital life after the internet revolution in the world, whereas these monitoring processes may endanger their priority. A shiny example that can illustrate my meaning is Instagram which collects its users' data and sells them to governmental organizations and also advertising agencies without informing the victims. Furthermore, these monitoring implementations might be used in unethical ways in some countries. In other words, some cruel governments track populations to control them as they like rather than use them in a positive way. In conclusion, Although these signs of progress involve a few merits, from my perspective, I suppose the disadvantages outweigh the benefits because I am concerned about the community's privacy.