Some people say that universities should be concern with educating people so that they will have wide general knowledge and be able to consider important matters from and informed view point. Other people say that universities should make or train students to do the jobs required by the society, and not concern themselves with broader issues. What do you think?

We do know the importance of university education and this essay will highlight the importance of holistic knowledge one gets that helps one to not only get a job, and perform efficiently but also address broader issues around him with better analysis and informed decisions. Primarily, education has to be all-round with deep dive in core areas while also imparting intricate concepts of solving more generic issues that plague mankind, and, definitely universities have a key role to play here. On the contrary, in the absence of such a well-rounded education, our workforce would just be selfish and live for themselves and never bother about mankind's problems and solutions to mitigate them. Therefore it is very critical for universities to consider training their students and preparing them to be more meaningful and fruitful contributors to society.