Technological and scientific advances are changing the food people eat. Some believe that these are changes can be harmful to the health of the people. Others challenge this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Technology is flourishing by leaps and bounds in all fields, especially in the food sector. A section of society thinks that technology in the food sector would affect negatively human well-being. However, others opposed this by saying that these advancements are helpful for people. I personally believe that having such kind of progress in the food sector would be harmful to the public as this may affect the overall health of mankind. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the notions with relevant examples. First of all, there are a plethora of detrimental effects of changing food habits as altered food would not be digestible to some. To be more precise, in this type of food, manufacturers may use some sorts of chemicals that would prevent food to get expired. For example, a recent survey found that 67% of people are suffering from disastrous health problems and the main reason, they have found the considerable amount of oil that is used in order to improve the shelf-life of any packed food. Hence, they can catch some chronic diseases such as high levels of cholesterol, obesity, arthritis and so on. On the other hand, some pessimistic people think the opposite of the above view. As they are supporting the entrance of technology into the food sector, and think that it can bring an abundance of benefits. As we know, life is really hectic these days, and if they have genetically modified food to eat, they can preserve it in their fridges for a longer period of time. As a consequence, they can eat it according to their convenience. For instance, in Japan, the majority of folks have adopted a habit to eat prepared food as they do not have much time to cook at home. In conclusion, although there are some benefits of genetically modified food to the public, in my opinion, this kind of food may impact badly on consumers' health and sometimes would become lethal.