Nowadays, Internet addiction is becoming a common phenomenon. What are causes and effects of this problem?

These days, people are utilizing the Internet in absolutely every area of their lives, behaviour that is turning into an alarming addiction. There are several factors why such a phenomenon is occurring, and also some detrimental effects on our society. The main reasons for the aforementioned trend, are the widespread availability of internet connections across the world, as well as the increasing preference among people, to interact with others through online websites. Firstly, the latest advancements in the technology industry have allowed most people around the globe to be able to use the internet almost on a daily basis. For instance, children in developing nations such as India, are now able to play online games with kids from other countries, which drives them to play video games for long hours instead of playing with other kids in their neighbourhood. Also, individuals are now more prone to reach out to peers through websites, since it is easier for them to express themselves avoiding face-to-face interactions. Those more introverted men, for example, state that thanks to online dating, they have been able to engage with women in ways that they would not have dared in a real conversation. Furthermore, this phenomenon is causing alarming negative effects in our world, not only because of electronic pollution, but also because those with such addictions are becoming increasingly lonely. Owing to their addictive behaviour, people are continuously acquiring new devices in order to remain updated with the latest tech, which brings about tremendous drawbacks to our environment. For instance, gamers that are known to spend several hours a day on the computer, are constantly purchasing new monitors and accessories to stay on trend, disregarding whatever they consider old and obsolete. Therefore, the so-called "tech junk" is increasing every day, polluting our environment at an alarming pace. Additionally, those individuals that are addictively utilizing social media to relate with others, cannot engage with real people in social situations. As a result, more and more people are becoming socially introverted and struggling to truly connect with others. For instance, studies have shown that youngsters that grew up regularly using social media, expressed how lonely and depressed they felt because of the lack of real relationships in their lives. To conclude, there are many reasons why people become addicted to the internet, if left unaddressed, this trend will continue to affect our society in terrible ways.