Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. Do you agree or disagree

Depletion of fuel resources is always a significant concern for many years. Prices of fuel have been increased for the last many years but still, some people think that prices should be increased more to save the globe's fuel resources for future generations. I understand the value of natural resources that it takes millions of years to get replenished, but, I do not think that increase in price is the only solution to reduce their consumption, there are many other ways which I shall discuss in the following paragraphs. At the outset, increasing fuel rates cannot solve the problem of overconsumption of our non-renewable resources. It will only lead to inflation nothing else, because nowadays everyone is using their personal cars to travel for their jobs or other work, so they cannot stop using that. For instance, individuals working in private and public sectors are using their own vehicles to reach offices on time due to a lot of work pressure and tight deadlines. Moreover, travelling by their own motor vehicle is comfortable for older people so an increase in fuel prices will make their life miserable. Hence, people are dependent on fuel to make their life comfortable, so a boost in the prices will not help in saving these resources. However, there are other ways by which we can limit the usage of fuel. Firstly, government and other social workers should organize rallies where they make people aware of our natural resources and the biggest concern of over-exploiting them. For example, children should be taught in their schools about the value of these assets for our nation. On top of this, the government should focus on improving public transport facilities keeping in mind of needs for working people and older people. More they feel comfortable while travelling by public transport less they will use their own vehicles. Therefore, this will automatically reduce the usage of fuel. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that raising cost of petrol and diesel will not help in lowering their consumption but instead it will put pressure on middle-class people. Instead, the government should use proper measures like improving the public transport system and making community aware of the importance of non-replenishable resources for our future generations.