Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Traffic congestion is an increasing concern in urban areas. While some believe that funding infrastructure can improve the current situation others are of the opinion that there are better alternatives to resolve growing concerns of over-jamming vehicles. In my opinion, increased funding can only offer a temporary solution thus seeking other measures can better stabilise the situation. Supporters of investments firmly believe that renovation and reconstruction can improve over congestion of roads, thereby getting traffic in control. For example, widening roads, building bridges, vertical home expansion, and sea-link pathways can improve overcrowding. However, with the rise in population due to overcrowding of cities, migration of people from rural to urban areas and increased concentration of job opportunities in cities better infrastructure will not be able to withstand the problem. Hence in my opinion, financing these projects will not improve the current situation. On the other hand, the government must deep dive into the root cause of the problem and bring in policies and reforms to put an end to traffic jams in developed areas. For instance, one vehicle policy, providing employment opportunities to underdeveloped cities, rural development etc. Such measures will evenly distribute the population thereby minimising the concentration of vehicles in a particular area which in turn will reduce traffic jams in cities. To conclude, although funding infrastructure projects may seem an easier solution to deal with the plight of traffic in the cities, this may not be the ultimate solution to the problem. Therefore adopting other forms such as rural development, and vehicle policies may bring better hope to dealing with traffic problems in cities in my opinion.