Nowadays, traffic is a serious problem in big cities. Why this is so and what effects does it bring? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Without a doubt, traffic congestion is a relevant issue these days, especially in larger cities. From my perspective, it is the case because the number of cars has been increasing over the past decades but motorways and urban roads have remained the same. Therefore, endless traffic jam influences individuals' productivity. Moreover, vehicles have become more affordable today which is why we have an excess of automobiles on the roads. Inevitably, it has an environmental impact. The notions will be examined in the essay. First and foremost, traffic congestion has always been an issue to tackle but it is getting a more serious problem. The reason is poorly developed roads and motorways and a huge number of vehicles. For example, statistics show that Moscow and Instanbul are the most congested megapolises in the world. It comes as no surprise, that individuals living in the cities are more irritated and less productive and less happy than citizens of Kopenhagen which is a paradise for cyclists. Thus, constant traffic jams take their toll on people’s emotional state, results at work and level of happiness. Besides, cars used to be extremely expensive. However, it is not the case anymore. So, the correlation can be seen that the price has decreased and the number of vehicles has grown. For instance, long-term research has shown that 50 years ago 1 family out of 5 could afford to purchase a car and nowadays 1 family out of 3 can buy a vehicle. Consequently, a big number of vehicles contribute to climate change due to harmful emissions. Unfortunately, electric cars are costly at the moment and very few people can afford them. In conclusion, traffic congestion has indeed become an issue in the contemporary world which is detrimental to citizens' mental and physical health, productivity and relationships let alone the environment. Obviously, governments should pay more attention to this problem.