Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that all subjects should have the same figure of male and female in university. However, from my perspective, I completely disagree with the notion. One evident reason is that the insistence on recruiting the same number of both males and females in every faculty is unrealistic. To exemplify, student number of the course depends on how many applicants the institution received; trying to have every subject reach the same figure of both sexes means that the university will need many more candidates; however, on most occasions, there will be no enough applicants to meet the condition. Moreover, some subjects are preferable to a certain gender, and it is not practical with the aim of finding the same amount of students of other sexualities. For example, most of the students in the nursing department are female, and it would be rather difficult to find the same number of male applicants to compensate for the disparity. Apart from the practical aspect, it would also be unfair for students who want to apply for the faculty. An irrational policy like this for choosing a specific gender over the other can lead to a distinctive student being stifled while dissipating his or her passion for the subject. For example, it would be unreasonable to let an outstanding girl be rejected in applying nursing department and replaced by another mediocre male student simply because there already are sufficient proportions for females. Thus, to ensure a genuinely fair environment for schoolers, universities should continue to select their applicants based on their qualifications and passion for the faculties instead of the sexes. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the notion as it can be highly inefficient and unfair to carry out such a policy, and I strongly believe that universities and other academic institutions should maintain a suitable method of selecting students.