Many countries now face an economic downturn so it is better for each country to focus on its own problems rather than helping other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many countries have known to sporadically face an economic downturn which some may call a recession. The developed nations are faced with major problems including but notwithstanding unemployment, poverty, healthcare and other socio-economic crisis. Thus, it is not their responsibility in helping those suffering from a downturn. I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, I would analyze both sides of the argument and draw a conclusion from them. Firstly, many developing communities and third world regions depend abundantly on their natural resources as a key contributor to the GDP. As commodity prices are dependent on the consequent raw material rates, this could lead to a sharp surge or wane in the economy depending on the demand and supply. Furthermore, there could be various reasons for a crisis including corruption and a housing bubble. For example, when the crude oil price faced a negative decline, many major companies went insolvent and as a result, many states had to increase the cost of commodities available to the public. Thus it is imperative for the developed population to uplift and gives a helping hand to the countries which have been struck by the recession. On the other hand, the developed countries are competing with each other to improve healthcare and technology including building some of the tallest skyscrapers. The society which is facing a downturn has not assessed or foreseen the situation due to lapses in the various benefits provided to its citizens. Although the nations have their own problems to take care of, I agree that in times of crisis, it is better to offer support to the countries in need since the world is connected through maritime trade. In conclusion, since many nations are interdependent on each other and since there are various immigrants to the population dependent on the economy, the developed countries must provide the technology and healthcare available to offer financial support to the third-world country. This would promote more integrity and diversity for the smooth operation of trade between the nations.