Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Throughout the years, it has been known that competitive sports can play an important role in an adolescent's life. Although many believe such activities have a positive impact on a teenager's development and education, others are of the opposite opinion. From my point of view, playing a sport when young can be beneficial, as it creates healthy habits. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative sides sports can have on a teenager's life as well as brush over my opinion. Firstly, the majority of parents and teachers look at competitive sports as a beneficial activity for their children. For one, playing a sport promotes physical and psychological well-being to humans who are progressively developing, it reduces stress and improves focus when in or out of class. In addition, competition can also create the willpower of performing better academically since, in order to win, people are always looking for ways to outdo themselves. In my point of view, playing sports during your teenage years is one of the best decisions a person can make, not only because it helps them in their present lives, but because it can bring so many positive habits in the future, such as eating healthy foods or doing exercises regularly. Nevertheless, as beneficial as competitive sports can be, some people might argue that they have more negative impacts on a teenager's life than positive ones. Exposure to too much competition can result in problems such as not knowing how to lose and connecting those losses with the feeling of failing, which causes a larger problem which is self-doubt. For many people, for instance, being a team player might be fun and rewarding, as for others, it can be draining, causing stress and comparison between them and the other team members. In conclusion, as many negative effects as a competitive sport can bring in a teenager's development and education, the positives outweigh the negatives when realising what competition can do to one's life, building so much resilience.