Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

The newest technologies are allowing more people to have an altered way of working. Many began working from home due to mobile phones, notebooks, iPad and their combinations to the internet. Although there are distinct advantages to this, it can also have negative effects on a person’s life. This essay will discuss a few of the benefits this type of performance can bring, as well as the disadvantages and why they outweigh the positive effects. Firstly, there are a few benefits to this mobility, and the main one could possibly be that it allows people to perform from anywhere in the world, and no longer need to reside at an office. For example, many companies today allow their employees to work from their households, which allows individuals from many cities around the globe to work at the same business, doing all the practice online in the comfort of their homes. This kind of job can be very helpful to save workers time to be with their families, as well as reduces stress caused by the daily routine of travelling to the office. Nevertheless, despite the beneficial results working outside the workplace can have on one's life, people can have difficulties separating work life and home life, once it is all blended together in the same place. Some individuals might argue that working from their residence is exhausting and that always staying in the same environment is energy draining resulting in a decrease in productivity and can impact life on a personal level, such as with their significant other or children. It is important to remember that home is a place where one spends many of their non-working hours, where they relax and connect with family, when there is no separation between the two worlds, a home can become a stressful and unpleasant place, therefore, making this line of employment a lot more negative. In conclusion, as many advantages as this job mobility can bring to a person's life, the disadvantages pointed out in this essay, such as the inability to separate personal life from career, outweigh all these benefits, because it causes an impact on one’s personal life.