It is essential for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age; punishment is necessary to help them understand the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punishment should be given?

Nowadays, it is crucial for children to gauge the differences between right and wrong during untimely ages as punishment is a need to assist them in receiving positive reinforcement. In my essay, I will identify some ways to punish children. On the one hand, some of the methods of how a child should be punished are, firstly, losing privilege. In other words, decrease pocket money given to the child by restricting screening time, playing online games, and watching cartoons on Netflix. Moreover, parents can engage their children in some form of physical activity which diverts their minds. For instance parents can involve children in games such as running around, doing a few push-ups, backyard gardening and household chores. Finally, punishing a child via a time out whenever they get to sit in the corner, remaining quiet and at the same time reflecting on their bad behaviour because of their discipline. On the other hand, rewarding the child for their good behaviour by giving them incentives such as giving them small treats (Mac Donald’s), buying them their favourite toys and taking them to the cinema. Praise them for their good behaviour by giving them acknowledgement notes and a tap on their back and sharing their achievements with other family members and friends. Nevertheless, parents upskill their offspring by teaching them virtues so that the child is holistically developed and moulded. Additionally, having a private tutor at home for at least an hour can also be an advantage to boost the child ’s academic performance and, at the same time, keep the child occupied. In conclusion, the introduction of desirable behaviour is expected hence prior time management is essential for a child ’s development physically, cognitively and emotionally. Further, parents need to spend quality time with their children to maintain focus and judge their overall performance.