In many countries, teenagers are being encouraged to do part-time jobs. Some people think it is a positive development while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays adolescents are being motivated to work a few hours a day in some countries nowadays. Some individuals hold the view that it is advantageous for youth in the long-term whereas others think otherwise. I am inclined to agree with the latter because even a part-time job requires energy and concentration which are essential for productive studying. The notions will be examined in the essay. To begin with, some parents believe that working from a younger age their offsprings learn to be independent and self-confident. Certainly, it might be the case because it enables teenagers to earn their own income and hence young people learn to comprehend the true value of money. For example, a study has shown that young individuals who worked and received salaries from their employer spent their finances more rationally and even tried to save up a certain percentage of their income in comparison to those who were given pocket money and tend to spend it straight away. Therefore, being employed from a younger age a person may become more financially literate which definitely will be beneficial for the future. However, some individuals argue that a part-time job could be harmful to students because it demands focus and commitment and it would be better to concentrate on studies instead. For instance, research demonstrates that human beings have a short attention span which lasts approximately 45 minutes after that time a break is needed in order not to overload the brain. Therefore, if young adults study and have to work after school or a university it is getting difficult for them to concentrate on important tasks and they become less productive as a result. To make matter worse, it might entail emotional burning out. In conclusion, even though a part-time job has its obvious pros, it may cause a negative impact on adolescents’ mental health and productivity.