Today, more people are living longer after they retire from work. What problems will it cause for individuals and society? what can be done to prevent it?

Medical advance leads to a longer life expectancy for modern urbanites. While the days with no jobs after retirement, the problem of insufficient pensions may probably cause anxiety to the elderly and burden the young generation. It is a must for an authorities’ intervention. More demand for savings, as well as financial pressure, are brought to all dwellers since the days with no income. Not only do elder people worry about their unpredictable cost of medical needs and daily expenditures, but also concerns from the youth about public financial burdens are raised. In particular, many studies found that huge numbers of citizens with age 65 or above, especially in the lower-income group, will suffer from depression or any related mental illnesses due to money issues. Meanwhile, heavy pressure is brought on taxpayers. Hence, the unwillingness of giving birth to their offspring is usually higher in Japan or other countries with serious ageing population problems. In order to tackle the negative effects of financial pressure after retirement, an introduction of all-rounded elderly policies should be made by the government twofold. Firstly, more education on savings for pensions or wealth planning should be launched. Therefore, an increasing amount of elderly may find their post-working life affordable. Besides, methods for raising their incentives for future investment are also needed. Secondly, financial aid from the authorities may necessarily help to minimize the multiplied effects on society as the poverty problem will not affect several generations of people with low income. In conclusion, financial problem is always the main concern after retirement. Allied with the elderly, other generations shares the same pressure. Therefore, an introduction of thoughtful ageing policies, which raise incentives for saving or governmental support for those in poverty, will be an indispensable solution for society.