17. Some people think that a persons improve their intellectual skills more when doing a group activity. To what extend do you agree.

In modern society, many tasks or assignments work in groups; therefore, some people believe that intellectual skills are better improved by engaging in group activities. Personally, I would agree with this statement. Many reasons can support this idea. First, every person is unique and has his own thoughts or logic, so when there are numerous people gathering together, a considerable amount of perspectives will be piled up. Hence, as the discussion goes, some of the perspectives can stimulate others' thoughts and probably optimize the areas that have been neglected, leading to further improving intellectual levels. Furthermore, studies have shown that many vital inventions in the world were from people outside the field, meaning that various and unorthodox thoughts are always required and one's capability is somehow restricted. On the other hand, opponents would claim a lack of efficiency in group activities. Since the time spent on understanding others can be long and tedious, one can always save that and train his intellectual abilities alone at home. Also, there would be many distractions in group situations such as social pressure or interpersonal skills that if a person wants to hone intellectual skills, other methods should be more efficient. However, I would argue that human beings always need somebody to provide feedback or support when learning, and there are always going to be blind spots when doing things in solitary, so group activities are essential. In conclusion, although some benefits can be observed through developing intellectual skills oneself, I would not think those outweigh the advantages that group activities can provide; hence, people should take part in group activities as much as possible when it comes to the improvement of intellectual skills.