Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, smartphones are very popular devices that everyone has due to its convenience. However, a few children are using them too often in their daily life. In this essay, I will give my opinion on what are the reasons for this problem and whether it is good or bad for the youngsters. There are many causes that lead into children ’s increasing screen time. The first one is children have lots more opportunities to use smartphones. These days, it’s very common for parents to make smartphones a reward for their kids after they’ve done something nice. Another thing is there are so many apps and games on the smartphones for the youngsters to discover. But they’re very vulnerable to these addiction since they have lots of free time and they prefer videogames to activities like reading books. In my opinion this development has bad effects on the children. They won’t be going outside as much. In this case, it will make them exercise less so their body will become weaker, and the kids won’t be able to receive enough vitamin D from the sunlight, which is crucial in their bones’ growth. One more thing is the children will have a sedentary lifestyle. This means they won’t go out or talk with their friends face to face that much. Therefore, they will lack the ability to communicate with others. In conclusion, the causes are mainly from the kids’ parents and this is a negative development. Smartphones can be useful for children to learn and entertain, however, parents should maintain how and how much their kids use smartphones, alongside with encouraging them to exercise more and read more.