Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Towns and cities around the world are much less healthy for their inhabitants compared to the past. This situation is the direct result of several factors, but many approaches exist to address the issue. One reason for the problem is greater population density combined with increased traffic, which, in turn, causes pollution, like air and noise, as well as stress. For example, many countries worldwide, not just in Europe, are becoming more urbanised as people move to cities because of the entertainment and education facilities available, along with greater work opportunities. As a result, city life is considerably less wholesome now both physically and mentally than for previous generations. To make city environments healthier, however, several important steps can be taken. For example, urban areas can be made greener by introducing more green spaces, even if they are only micro-gardens with a few trees, shrubs and seats. This can lead to both cleaner air and reduced stress. The problem can also be addressed by public and private buildings being made greener with the creation of roof gardens for people to relax in. Having transport systems that are efficient, cheap and comfortable is another way of ensuring that towns are healthy places. Such a measure will also enhance the quality of city life by reducing air pollution and stress on the roads as people are drawn to using the transport system. Attractive buildings that integrate work and living conditions as well as facilities like leisure, health and education set in attractive open spaces, can also lead to improvements in the health of the urban environment. Thus, despite cities being less healthy than in the past, the root causes can be tackled with several simple strategies.