Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people use ready-made food and sugary drinks which are unhealthy and potentially cause many diseases. There is a statement saying that if the cost of sugary goods increases, individuals would be encouraged to consume them less. Although personally I agree with this argument, I believe government should not restrict people ’s choices. As mentioned earlier, there is an argument claiming that a rise in the price of unhealthy products could decrease their consumption. The first and foremost reason is with spending less money, people can utilize less sugary foods and drinks as well as healthier. Additionally, if government emphasizes the diseases such as high blood sugar and diabetes and also raises the price of these products, more and more people would care more about their health and diet and not use products containing high levels of sugar. For instance, some studies have revealed the cost of products has a remarkable effect on people ’s choices. In other words, the more expensive a product is, the fewer people buy that even though it is healthier. Accordingly, making expensive could be substantially impressive on decisions. Despite what has been mentioned, I believe making some types of manufactured foods and drinks more expensive does not have any effect on wealthy people. Moreover, there are some people could not afford to buy these products anymore, so inequality will happen in society. In addition, the decisions of ordinary people will be restricted and they feel less welfare and pleasant in their life. Therefore, authorities should be responsible for people ’s welfare and allow them to make their own decision without budget forces. In conclusion, people have a personal preference for their diet, and governments have provided nutrition labels on the products which are available to anyone. Thus, there is no need to make some specific goods more expensive.