It is believed that people who read for pleasure develop their imagination more and acquire better language skills compared to people who prefer watching television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Introduction It is assumed that folks not only improve their creative thinking, but also enhance their language expertise when they read for fun, when compared to those who favour watching television. I completely agree to this view and would like to list down a few points to justify my agreement. First and foremost, reading is considered a very good habit to pursue since ancient days. Scholars of the past and present have encouraged reading for pleasure. For instance, Mr. APJ Abdul Kalam, a renowned scientist had once said that school kids must read about the things that fascinate them for atleast 30 minutes a day in order to be thorough with the particular subject. He further added that reading with satisfaction not just improves language skills but also boosts brain related activity which fosters performance. Hence it can be clearly understood that those who read for enjoyment always end up with multiple benefits. However on the other hand, television televsions don't promote practical thinking. They often reduce the brain activity as viewers are more often passive spectators. For instance, watching Harry Potter series on television is definitely a treat for the eyes and has got nothing to do with the brain fuction as everything is right in front, thanks to the graphics but reading the same novel makes the reader visualise every scene thus keeping the brain active throughout. It also helps the reader to improve his or her vocabulary. Hence televisions can be seen only as a source of entertainment but cannot be the right choice for developing creativity and expanding language horizons. Conclusion To summarise, it is evident that those who find happiness in reading are profited in multiple ways in contrast to those who prefer watching television.