Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disaster. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued, that rich countries ought to provide relief assistance to the under-developed or developing nations following a natural disaster. This essay will discuss why I agree with this statement because these countries have a moral obligation and the financial resources to do so. Firstly, natural disasters often lead to a shortage of food and medical supplies. As a result, people suffer and can also die due to outbreaks of diseases and lack of nutrition. Thus, the wealthier nations are able to assist with emergency relief, such as food, water, and medicines. For example, during the recent major earthquake in Tonga that caused widespread destruction, including contamination of water sources, the Australian Government provided immediate humanitarian assistance by flying in emergency supplies to help the Tongan people in need. Secondly, Western countries have the necessary funds and big financial budgets to provide such assistance. Poor countries do have the money to rebuild the damaged areas and help their people in need. Without aid from these donor countries, these nations will not be able to rebuild essential infrastructures, such as school buildings, hospitals, roads and other public facilities. Thus, this can cause significant economic and health problems for these countries without financial support from the developed regional partners. Following the aftermath of Cyclone Winston in Fiji (which was the strongest Category 5 cyclone over the past decade), which wiped out almost one- third of the economy, hundreds of millions of dollars in aid was received to help in rebuilding the nation. In conclusion, there will be a lot more suffering in the world if the rich countries do not play their part in assisting the needy disaster affected nations, based on their strong financial position.