Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree

Juvenile delinquency is of increasing concern in modern society. What degree of punishment should be imposed on those teenagers is a controversial issue.Personally, I deem that penalty is necessary, but rehabilitation should be in the first place. To commence with, young criminals deserve the punishment as we need to make those delinquents realize the serious results they have caused and account for the outcomes. In addition, the sanction also has a deterrent effect on other teenagers, for which the youth crime rate will reduce. However, the penalty on the youth should be to some extent alleviated in proportion to that on adults. The main reason is that the likelihood of moulding teenagers' character is much larger because those young people are staying in their formative years when they can readily absorb new knowledge and correct their mistakes. Supposing that a young criminal was sent to prison for decades, where he would be accompanied by criminals the same as him but with no teachers and peers, he would lose the opportunity to continue studying and his prospect would be destroyed definitely. Therefore, properly guide and discipline are primary to these adolescents and counselling services should be provided by governments, since juvenile delinquency is usually the outcome of lacking companionship and moral cultivation. Overall, it is essential to punish young criminals, but the punishment should be mitigated since we need to put our focus on reform rather than the punishment itself.