In recent years, the family structure has changed as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occurred? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

As we come into the new millennium, there are various dramatic modifications that have taken place in both family organization and task delegation. In my opinion, the transformation of the family’s cornerstone and the reduction of household size are some major changes and I hold a view that this phenomenon would result in a host of beneficial scenarios. On the one hand, there are a variety of new forms of family composition. To commence with, while extended families were prominent in previous decades, today’s adults are more likely to eschew multigenerational living conditions in favour of nuclear families. In other words, thanks to far smaller family sizes with just two generations staying together under the same roof, residents could no longer have to share their personal items or the bathroom with other relatives. Another key consideration is that the preconception about women who always bear full responsibility for childrearing and cooking tasks has been rejected, with that said, there is a proliferation of stay-at-home fathers, who would share the housework and bring up their babies. Moreover, both genders could become the breadwinner since they could devote more time to joining the workforce and contribute to the growing family income. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that these shifts would bring about various upsides. First and foremost, thanks to closer family connections, individuals would have more chances to build up a close-knit relationship and strengthen family bonds, whereby, each member could gain in-depth knowledge and superior insights into other’s psychological problems or emotional expressions. In addition, both husbands and wives tend to pursue their own career path with stable income and it would therefore trigger financial security, which might not only limit the possibilities of divorce due to underprivileged contexts but also create better growing conditions and life quality for their offspring. What’s more, since women are no longer put extreme tensions originating from domestic and childcare responsibilities, they could spend their time on other amusing activities or learning courses, which would fuel their physical and mental health, as well as foster a great sense of self-confidence. In conclusion, I hold the belief that thanks to several significant changes in terms of family units and roles, they would push for greater gender equality and provide humans with diverse advantageous aspects.