Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is ? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The statement points out that several cities all over the world are now facing great traffic issues because of the rise in auto ownership over the past 3 decades. This essay supports the aforementioned statement and will provide a reason with 2 possible methods to tackle crowded roads. Focusing on the rise of automobile ownership, it cannot be denied that technological development had allowed new innovations including more effective automobile manufacturing at a more affordable cost. As a result, people, even with low budgets, can lay a hand on this premium vehicle. Therefore, for many countries with weak civil planning, it can be extremely complex to manage congestion on the road. For example, Bangkok, Thailand, is well-known for its concerning traffic due to new budget cars invented and its poor planning. Therefore, citizens had been suffering never-ending red lights for more than a decade. In order to handle this problem, governments should consider making improvements to public transportation. Not only being more economical, time-effective, and environmentally friendly, mass transit can also replace volume on the road resulting in more manageable traffic. In addition, governments can also arrange bike lanes all over the city so that people would consider moving from car usage to riding a bicycle. To sum up, this essay agrees that auto ownership has increased resulting in traffic congestion in many main cities. It also suggests 2 ways to discourage travelling by car which are improving public transportation and encouraging bike users by preparing lanes for bikes.