Some people think the spread of multinational companies and globalization produces positive outcomes for everyone. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The advent of global corporations and globalisation is viewed as an overall net positive for the everyone. In this essay, it is argued that globalisation has indeed created win-win outcomes for most countries, however there are some shortcomings that needs to be addressed along the way. The advent of trade and globalisation had led to the creation of multinational conglomerates, which provided the scale and reach necessary for increase in global economic growth. During the days of autarky, countries did not trade and invest much in each other, which meant that overall economic growth was low. But, ever since the advent of globalisation we have had multinational corporations create global supply chains to take advantage of cheap labour costs in many countries. This has led to an increase in living standards for countries like China and India, which allowed them to become very prosperous. The availability of cheap goods has also enriched developed countries and their corporations, thereby creating a win-win outcome for both sides involved. On the other hand, mega-corporations have also created several ecological disasters which are affecting entire countries to this day. For example, British Petroleum extracted oil and gas from Nigeria through cheap methods which generated a lot of toxic by-products. This waste product had led to a steep increase in cancer rates and several other diseases amongst the local populace. But, BP on account of its size was able to skirt regulations through bribes and were not held accountable. Hence, global conglomerates while conducting their operations remain loosely accountable for any damage caused by their actions. In conclusion, while globalisation has created net positive outcomes for all parties involved it needs to become more fair and transparent regarding its shortcomings to become sustainable. Overall, if there are global regulations enacted to deal with the harmful actions caused by some multinationals, globalisation will ensure a prosperous future for all of humanity.