Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree ?

Since time immemorial the threat of imprisonment has been used to enforce justice by putting convicted criminals behind bars. In this essay, i argue that prison is not the most effective solution for reducing crime and thereby disagree with the premise. Prisons these days are creating even more hardened criminals and are partly responsible for a steady rise in violent crimes for decades. Imprisoning people has become a goto solution for a society which is unwilling to solve the real problems of mental health, poverty and a biased judicial system. For example, in the US minorities that committed even petty crimes can be imprisoned for upto 10 years. The person who entered the penal system might have been a small-time drug offender or a petty criminal. But, by the time he exits the prison, is most likely to have affiliations to a criminal gang. It does not help that once an ex-convict re-enters society he or she will most likely be unable to get a decent job. So, most people end up turning back to their previous gangs in search of a sense of family and to earn money. It is thereby not a surprise that minor drug-offenders are now the ones committing even more serious crimes. Hence, what prisons end up doing is creating hardened criminals who are likely to commit even more crimes. Most Nordic countries have already been effective in reducing crime through a combination of better education and increased access to mental health services. In countries like Norway, criminals are treated like human beings who can be reformed. They review the mental health related ailments of the inmate and provide the necessary treatments required. While, improving the mental status of the inmate they also provide trade school related training or access to education with a pathway charted to lead to a job upon release. These interventions have been immensely successful and as a result countries like Norway have the lowest incarceration rates in the world. In conclusion, prisons are not an effective in reducing crime and end up exacerbating the issue it intends to solve for. Instead, the prisoners based on the type and severity of offense committed need to be reformed through a combination of education and mental health interventions.